Jan 05, 2024

Written By Helena Kudiabor

What format is the SQE1 exam?

Jan 05, 2024

Written By Helena Kudiabor

SQE1 is the first exam of the Solicitors Qualifying Examination (SQE), which was designed to replace the Legal Practice Course and the Graduate Diploma in Law.

How is the exam designed?

SQE1 is divided into two parts, FLK1 and FLK2. Each one is assessed on separate, non-consecutive days. The exam aims to test your functioning legal knowledge (as opposed to SQE2 which assesses practical skills) and is given as computerised multiple choice questions.

Each day is divided into two sessions. Both sessions require you to complete 90 multiple choice questions in 2 hours and 30 minutes, meaning you have just under two minutes for each question. Between the two sessions, you will be given a 60-minute break. If you need help answering the questions, you will receive a marker pen and a white board as well as a calculator on the computer.

What topics does SQE1 cover?

FLK1 and FLK2 both cover different topics:


-Business Law and practice

-Dispute Resolution



-Legal System of England and Wales

-Constitutional and Administrative Law and EU Law and Legal Services

-Ethics and Professional Conduct (examined in both)


-Property Practice Wills and the Administration of Estates

-Solicitors Accounts

-Land Law Trusts

-Criminal Law and Practice

-Ethics and Professional Conduct (examined in both)

When will I receive my SQE1 results?

Results will be released six to ten weeks after you sit the exam, but you will receive an exact date shortly before the exam. You will be notified of their release via email and will be able to see them via your SQE account. You will not only receive whether you passed or failed the exam, but also your overall mark as a percentage, the pass mark for the exam, and candidate quintiles so you can see how you did compared to other candidates.


What happens if I fail the SQE1?

You must pass both FLK1 and FLK2, so if you fail either or both, you will have to resit whichever part you failed. If you only fail one section you will have to pay £899, but if you fail both you will pay £1,798. If you fail any part of the exam three times, you will have to wait until six years after the day of your first exam to reapply.

Are there accommodations available for those with disabilities?

If you believe you are entitled to adjustments, you must register an account for the SQE and complete the reasonable adjustments form available in the account portal. You must complete the form as early as possible, and include documentation detailing your disability and how the adjustments you want will help. Examples of potential adjustments include: 25% extra time - but this can be more if you have specific needs - a separate room, or an enlarged font.